#MelaninMonday

We all have melanin. Some more than others. But since when did your genetic makeup define your self worth as a person? Unfortunately, especially if you’re a a minority like me, you understand the wrath of looking different from the majority. You understand how it feels to be compared to a European standard of beauty that was made to never reflect your own physical appearance. But with minority populations on the rise, we’re seeing more people like us. We are hearing about other people that may share the same ethnical backgrounds speak on their experiences and what it felt like to grow up as a minority or a person of color. Today you will hear my story and why #melaninmonday is so important to me. I trace my roots back to the beautiful and culturally diverse country of India. Although I was born in the States, I did spend the first few years of my life in the state of Punjab in India. Exposure to my culture in the purest form was something I learned to appreciate more recently in my life. Post 9/11 I felt the heartache of the country I was born in but I felt the wrath of being an “outsider” along with the people of my ethnicity. For years I struggled with self-hatred and wishing I could change who I am. But in the recent light of this melanin-embracing movement, I learned that I’m not alone. My melanin is beautiful. I define my own standards of beauty, #Melaninmonday means more to me than a hashtag. It represents empowerment. That’s exactly what it gave me.

Until next time,

xoxo Suki

Leave a Reply

